تعرف كيف تحول بيئة عملك إلى بيئة عمل ملهمة

في المتوسط ​​، يقضي الشخص ثلث حياته في العمل ما جعل المؤسسات والشركات تهتم بإنشاء مساحات عمل ليست ملهمة فحسب بل مريحة بنفس القدر للأشخاص الذين يعملون فيها. تفهم المنظمات الأكثر نجاحًا اليوم هذا الارتباط بين وجود قوة عاملة منتجة وبيئة عمل رائعة. فكر في Google أو أي من أفضل شركات التكنولوجيا القائمة اليوم. فعندما تقوم مؤسسة بإضفاء الطابع المؤسسي على رفاهية موظفيها، فإن هذا يترجم إلى مكان عمل أكثر سعادة وإنتاجية.

هناك أمران يجب مراعاتهما عند بناء بيئة عمل ملهمة، المساحة المادية وتحسين ظروف عمل الأشخاص الذين يعملون فيها. يمكن أن تتضمن التحسينات المادية إنشاء مساحة عمل “أكثر انفتاحًا” مثل بناء صالات رياضية، أو غرف صالة، أو أماكن يستطيع فيها الموظفون ببساطة إزالة بعض الضغوط أو تحريرها.

يمكن أن يتضمن إنشاء بيئة عمل ملهمة أيضًا تحسين العلاقة بين الإدارة والموظفين، بالإضافة إلى تنفيذ البرامج التي تعزز التوازن بين “العمل –الحياة” وتحفيز الموظفين للأداء الجيد.

 

نصائح حول كيفية الحفاظ على موظفيك متفاعلين ومحفزين

مكان العمل السعيد هو مكان عمل مثمر. قد يبدو هذا بسيطًا بدرجة كافية، لكن وفقًا لدراسة أجرتها مؤسسة Gallup، فإن 32٪ فقط من موظفي الولايات المتحدة “مشاركين” في وظائفهم. تبين هذه الأرقام أن ثلث القوى العاملة فقط أظهر التزامًا أو حماسًا للمهمة التي كانوا يقومون بها.

الأمر الأكثر إثارة للقلق هو أن ما يقرب من نصف، أو 50.8% كانوا “غير مشاركين”، وهم الموظفين الذين كانوا يفعلون ما يكفي لإنجاز المهمة وانتظار الساعة لتصل إلى 5 مساءً، أو الموظفون الذين كانوا يبذلون الحد الأدنى من الجهد المطلوب للوصول إلى الراتب التالي.

هناك 17.2% تم فصلهم حرفيا. هؤلاء العمال هم الأسوأ. إما أنهم لا يعملون فعليًا في المكتب أو لا يتظاهرون بأنهم يعملون. الآن هناك الكثير من العمال الذين تدفع لهم الراتب الشهري وفي نفس الوقت عاطلين أو لا يعملون بالشكل المطلوب.

نصيحة رقم 1 إنشاء علاقات عمل أفضل

تحقيق الانسجام في مكان العمل من خلال مساعدة الموظفين على إنشاء علاقات عمل أفضل. تؤدي الفرق أداءً أفضل عندما تكون قادرة على العمل دون التعامل مع القضايا الشخصية مع تنظيم أنشطة بناء الفريق لمساعدتهم على تعزيز الصداقة الحميمة داخل وخارج بيئة العمل بالإضافة إلى تركهم يقضون بعض الوقت معًا خارج حدود العمل لبناء علاقات شخصية أقوى.

نصيحة رقم 2 برنامج تقدير الموظفين

لإلهام موظفيك على الأداء الأفضل، احتفل بإنجازاتهم من خلال إنشاء برنامج تقدير الموظفين مثل تقديم مكافأة لموظفيك عندما يتجاوزون التوقعات أو ببساطة بسبب خدمتهم الطويلة للشركة. من خلال إضفاء الطابع المؤسسي على هذا البرنامج، سيتم تحفيز موظفيك لتحسين عملهم. هذا لأنهم يعرفون أن الإدارة تقدر تقديرا عاليا جهودهم، حيث يعتبر عامل مهم في المساعدة في بناء الثقة بين الموظفين والإدارة.

نصيحة رقم 3 جائزة مخصصة للموظفين ذوي الأداء العالي

أحد أكبر التحديات في مكان العمل هو كيفية إلهام الموظفين. إنشاء برنامج مكافأة شيء مهم ولكن هناك طريقة أخرى لمنحهم درجة من الاستقلال. هذا يدل على الثقة حيث أن الإدارة واثقة من قدرات موظفيها، والاستفادة من إبداعهم والقدرة على الانتهاء من المهام وفقا لأفضل قدراتهم.

نصيحة رقم 4 فتح قنوات الاتصال

يعتبر التواصل الجيد شريان الحياة الأكثر حيوية في مكان العمل. حيث إنه يسهل تدفق الأفكار بين الموظفين. هذا أمر بالغ الأهمية بشكل خاص للفرق أو الإدارات التي تحتاج إلى العمل كفريق واحد. كما تعمل على سد الفجوة بين القوى العاملة والإدارة، مما يتيح للطرفين الفرصة لإقامة علاقات أوثق. التواصل طريق ذو اتجاهين كما تسمح التغذية الراجعة للجميع بأن يصبحوا مساهمين مهمين في الشركة.

نصيحة رقم 5 تشجيع النمو الشخصي

يجب أن يكون لدى كل موظف محرك داخلي لتحسين أنفسهم بشكل مستمر. التحسينات المادية في مكان العمل وجعله أكثر ملاءمة للعمل ليست سوى جزء من المعادلة. يجب على الموظفين أيضًا مشاركة عبء تحسين مكان العمل من خلال النمو الشخصي. عندما يكون الأشخاص محفزين يمكن أن يكونوا موظفين منتجين قادرين على التغلب على الملل والخمول في مكان العمل. ويمكن تحقيق ذلك من خلال التعليم والتدريب المستمر، بالإضافة لوجود برنامج مسار وظيفي يلهمهم أيضًا للتحسين الشخصي.

نصيحة رقم 6 برنامج مكافآت الموظفين

يجب ألا تكون مكافأة الأداء الجيد من خلال جوائز التقدير. يجب أن يكون هذا مصحوبًا أيضًا بترويج أو مزايا مالية لجعلها مجزية شخصيًا. من خلال القيام بذلك، يمكن للموظف إجراء اتصال إيجابي بين المنظمة ونجاحه الشخصي. عندما يرى الموظف ثمار عمله الشاق، فإنه يزيد من حافزه على الأداء بشكل أفضل.

نصيحة رقم 7 وضع أهداف واقعية

يمكن أن يكون سبب الإجهاد المرتبط بالعمل التوقعات أو المواعيد النهائية غير الملباة. يميل المديرون إلى دفع موظفيهم لتحقيق أهداف غير واقعية. امنح الموظفين إحساسًا بالإنجاز عن طريق منحهم أهدافًا معقولة. هذا يمكنهم من تجاوز التوقعات وأن يكافأوا على بذل جهود إضافية. اجعل الأهداف قابلة للقياس لتستطيع الحكم على أداء الموظف على أساس البيانات الموضوعية بسهولة.

نصيحة رقم 8 التدريب والتطوير

يمكن القيام بالتدريب خلال سير العمل؛ من تدريب الموظفين، بناء الفريق، التدريب الإداري، إدارة المشاريع، تعلم أساليب عمل جديدة. كما يساعد التدريب والتطوير الوظيفي في زيادة قيمة القوى العاملة لديك. حيث يتطلب قدراً ضئيلاً من الاستثمار في التدريب، لكنه يكافئ المنظمة بقوة عاملة ماهرة بشكل أفضل. يمكن أن يكون لفوائد التدريب المستمر تأثير إيجابي على موظفيك. يساعد تعلم مهارات جديدة والقدرة على اكتساب المعرفة على التخلص من الملل في مكان العمل. يمكن لبضع ساعات تقضيها خارج الروتين اليومي أن يكون التنفس الذي تحتاجه من الهواء النقي.

نصيحة رقم 9: إنشاء توازن أفضل بين العمل والحياة

لا ينبغي أن تدور الحياة أبدًا حول العمل، ولكن يجب أن يكون لدى الموظف أيضًا الدافع لأداء أفضل ما لديه في مكان العمل. وفر توازن حياة عمل أفضل من خلال دمج أنشطة الاسترخاء والمرح في مكان العمل أو تشجيعهم على قضاء وقت أكثر مع أصدقائهم وعائلاتهم.

يمكن للإدارة تعزيز التوازن بين العمل والحياة من خلال إضفاء الطابع الرسمي على ذلك من خلال سياساتها وإجراءات عملها. ومن الأمثلة الملموسة تقديم جداول العمل المرنة، والأحداث العائلية التي ترعاها الشركة، والإجازات المدفوعة الأجر، وفرص العمل في المنزل.

إن تقديم جداول عمل مرنة والسماح للموظفين بقضاء المزيد من الوقت مع الأصدقاء والعائلة يمنحهم استراحة من ضغوط العمل اليومية. إنه يعطيهم الوقت للتعافي والعودة بمزيد من الحماس.

يمكّن التوازن بين العمل والحياة الموظفين من تحقيق شعور بالرضا في عملهم وحياتهم الشخصية. من خلال منحهم الفرصة لقضاء وقت ممتع مع أحبائهم، يمكن للموظفين الحصول على تقدير أفضل للمؤسسة التي يعملون بها عندما يتحقق التوازن بين العمل والحياة، عندئذ يكون الموظفون أكثر سعادة وبالتالي أكثر إنتاجا.

 

خلق بيئة عمل أفضل

تتمثل الخطوة التالية في إنشاء بيئة عمل ملهمة في إجراء تغييرات فعلية في مكان العمل. يمكن أن يشمل ذلك استخدام المزيد من المعدات سهلة الاستخدام والأثاث المريح. نرى ذلك في أفضل المؤسسات والشركات اليوم، وهي عبارة عن مساحات مكتبية مصممة لتوفير الراحة للعاملين فيها. لقد مضت أيام المكاتب المظلمة الضيقة.

توفير أثاث مكاتب مريحة

تبدأ الراحة في تزويد موظفيك بكراسي مريحة للعمل. فهذا هو المكان الذي سيقضون فيه معظم يومهم في العمل. أثاث مكتبي مريح يساعد على تخفيف ضغط العمل اليومي، ويسمح لهم بالتركيز بشكل أفضل على عملهم دون الحاجة إلى القلق بشأن آلام الظهر.

إن توفير أثاث مكتبي مريح للموظفين يتجاوز مساحة عملهم الشخصية. كما ينبغي أن يشمل الأثاث والمعدات التي يمكن استخدامها للاسترخاء أثناء فترات الراحة. يجب أن تكون كراسي الاستراحة أو الاجتماعات غير الرسمية في قائمتك. كما يجب أن يكون هناك كراسي أو صالات مناسبة لكل عامل، ويجب أن تتباعد المكاتب بشكل مناسب يسمح للموظف بالتحرك بشكل مريح.

إضاءة طبيعية

استخدم الضوء الطبيعي لتفتيح مساحة العمل كلما كان ذلك ممكنا. هذا لا يساعد فقط على رفع معنويات الموظف الخاص بك ولكن أيضًا وسيلة رائعة لتوفير تكاليف الكهرباء. ثبت أن الضوء الطبيعي وأشعة الشمس على وجه الخصوص تزيد الإنتاجية وتحسن المزاج. إذا كنت تخطط لإضافة نوافذ، فابحث في أفضل طريقة لاستخدام الضوء الطبيعي مع منع ظهور الأشعة فوق البنفسجية الضارة.

وضع النافذة أمر بالغ الأهمية أيضًا. تحقق مما إذا كانت هناك أشجار قريبة تحتاج إلى تقليم أو وجود نافذة في موقع يمنع دخول أشعة الشمس بسبب المباني القريبة. يجب أن يكون موقع النوافذ مناسب نسبيًا لموقع الشمس للسماح بدخول أشعة الشمس القصوى خلال بقية اليوم. بعد التأكد من زيادة استخدامك للضوء الطبيعي إلى الحد الأقصى، قم بتطبيق مكتب مخطط مفتوح للسماح لأشعة الشمس بالوصول إلى كل ركن من أركان مساحة العمل.

تصفية الضوضاء

تتمثل إحدى مشكلات مساحات العمل المفتوحة في مستوى الضوضاء الناتجة في مساحة العمل. بدون جدران لمنع الضوضاء من الانتشار، يتردد الصوت بحرية في جميع أنحاء الغرفة. هذا يمكن أن يكون مزعج للغاية وخاصة بالنسبة للعمال الذين يفضلون بيئة العمل هادئة. مستويات الضوضاء العالية هي أيضًا مصدر رئيسي للتوتر في العمل.

استخدم أدوات لإلغاء الضوضاء مثل سماعات الرأس إذا أمكن ذلك. يمكنك أيضًا تنفيذ سياسات مكان العمل لاستخدام الهاتف. إن وضع الهواتف في وضع صامت يمكن أن يزيل النغمات المزعجة. للمناقشات والاجتماعات، ينصح بإنشاء غرف خاصة لهذا الغرض. يمكنك أيضًا تعيين أماكن خاصة للأشخاص الذين يحتاجون إلى مساحة عمل هادئة.

إنشاء مساحة عمل خضراء مع النباتات الداخلية

 أظهرت بعض الدراسات أن إضافة النباتات الداخلية أدى إلى تحسين الإنتاجية. هذا يرجع أساسا إلى انخفاض مستويات التوتر مقارنة بالعمل في بيئة خالية من النباتات. النباتات الداخلية هي أيضًا مرشحات للهواء الطبيعي وتعمل على تحسين جودة الهواء بشكل كبير في مساحة العمل. كما تساعد في التخلص من السموم المحمولة بالهواء والتي يمكن أن تسبب مشاكل صحية.

مكان واحد على الأقل من النباتات لكل 100 قدم مربع من المساحات المكتبية. النباتات هي مواد إزالة السموم الطبيعية، ولكن بعض النباتات أكثر كفاءة مقارنة بغيرها. يعد تحديد نوع النبات المراد استخدامه أمرًا مهمًا خاصة إذا كنت تستخدم مساحة محدودة. النباتات المثالية للمساحات المكتبية تشمل نبات الثعبان، الصبار، نبات العنكبوت، نخيل الخيزران. هذه النباتات مثالية لأنها تتطلب القليل من الصيانة ويمكن أن تعيش في ظروف الإضاءة المنخفضة.

تخصيص مساحات عمل شخصية

يساعد تخصيص مساحات عمل شخصية صغيرة عن طريق السماح للصور العائلية أو الأمور الشخصية في جلب جزء صغير من المنزل إلى المكتب. يمكن لهذا أن يساعد في تخفيف ضغط العمل من خلال تذكير الموظفين بأسباب عملهم أو تقديم بعض الذكريات السعيدة لهم. كما يوضح أن الإدارة تولي أهمية كبيرة لرفاهية موظفيها. تعمل مساحة العمل المخصصة على كسر الرتابة والملل في مكان العمل.

أثاث مكاتب مريحة

توفير أثاث المكاتب المريحة لا يقتصر على الراحة. حيث يعزز الصحة من خلال دعم وزن الجسم ووضعه. تعد إصابات الظهر شائعة بين الموظفين الذين يجلسون على كراسي المكتب لفترات طويلة من الزمن. كرسي مريح على سبيل المثال يمنع إصابات الظهر من خلال توفير الدعم المناسب للظهر. يجب أن تكون الطاولات أيضًا على ارتفاع مثالي. كما يجب أن تكون المعدات المهمة مثل الطابعات وآلات التصوير في متناول اليد وسهلة الاستخدام.

استخدام اللون لجلب الحياة إلى مساحة العمل

يمكن أن يكون للون تأثير نفسي على مزاج الشخص. حيث يرسل إشارة اللاوعي مباشرة إلى الدماغ التي تسبب استجابة نفسية. يمكن لبعض الألوان أن تحفز مشاعر معينة ويكون لها تأثير كبير في مكان العمل. كما يمكن أن يكون لها تأثير كبير على إنتاجية الموظف وصحته وتركيزه وإبداعه.

الحفاظ على بيئة عمل نظيفة ومنظمة

تعكس النظافة والتنظيم أقصى درجات الاحترافية. حيث أن مساحة العمل النظيفة هي مساحة عمل صحية. تشكل الجراثيم تهديدًا مستمرًا ليس فقط لصحة الموظف بل وأيضًا لصحة شركتك. كما أن ساعات العمل المفقودة بسبب المرض يمكن أن تتسبب في تأخير المشروع. يمكن أن تساعد الإدارة في تقليل هذا التهديد عن طريق توفير مناديل مطهرة للوحات المفاتيح أو المكاتب.

تعمل مساحة العمل جيدة التنظيم على تقليل المخاطر والحوادث في مكان العمل. يجب أن تكون الممرات والسلالم خاصة خالية من الفوضى. يجب أن يكون هناك أيضًا غرفة تخزين مخصصة للمعدات واللوازم غير المستخدمة. كما أن الحفاظ على الأروقة والمخارج واضحة أمر بالغ الأهمية خاصة في حالات الطوارئ.

درجة حرارة مثالية لمساحة العمل

عندما يتعلق الأمر بدرجة الحرارة، فلا يوجد علم دقيق لتحديد أي درجة حرارة أفضل بالنسبة للجميع. يريد بعض الموظفين أن يكون الجو حارًا، بينما يريد آخرون انخفاض درجة الحرارة. أفضل حل وسط هو إيجاد أرضية مشتركة بين الموظفين تجعل معظمهم يشعرون بالراحة على الأقل.

الحل هو الابتعاد عن درجات البرودة أو الحرارة الشديدة. بينما يمكن إدارة درجات الحرارة التي تقل عن الضبط المثالي للغرفة من خلال ارتداء السترات، يجب التعامل مع درجات حرارة الغرفة شديدة الحرارة باستخدام نظام تكييف هواء فعال.

Learn how to transform your work environment into an inspiring one

On average, one-third of a person’s life is spent at work. Making it important for organizations and businesses to create workspaces that are not only inspiring but equally comfortable for the people who work in them. Today’s most successful organizations understand this link between having a productive workforce and a great working environment. Think about Google or any of today’s top tech-based companies. When an organization institutionalized the welfare of its employees, this translates to a happier, more productive workplace.

There are two things to consider when building an inspiring work environment, the physical space and improving the working conditions of the people who work in it. Physical improvements can include the creation of a more “open” workspace. Constructing gyms, lounge rooms, or places where employees could simply stretch out or release some stress.

Creating an inspiring work environment can also involve improving the relationship between management and employees. Implementing programs that promote better work-life balance and awarding employees for good performance.

 

Tips on How to Keep your Employees Engaged and Motivated

A happy workplace is a productive workplace. This may sound simple enough, but according to a study by Gallup, only 32 percent of U.S. employees were considered “engaged” in their jobs. This numbers show that only one-third of the workforce showed commitment or enthusiastic about the job they were doing.

More alarming is that almost half, or 50.8 percent were “not engaged,” employees who were just doing enough to get the job done and waiting for the clock to hit the 5 p.m. mark. Employees who were just putting in the minimum effort required to get to the next paycheck.

This leaves the 17.2 percent which were literally disengaged. These workers are the worse. Either they’re just physically at the office doing nothing or pretending to be working. Now that is a lot of idle workers or people simply not working on your payroll.

Tip#1 Create Better Working Relationships

Bring harmony into the workplace by helping employees create better working relationships. Teams perform better when they can work without dealing with personal issues. Organize team building activities to help them foster camaraderie inside and outside the work environment. Letting them spend some time together outside the confines of work builds stronger personal relationships.

Tip#2 Employee Recognition Program

To inspire your employees to perform better, celebrate their accomplishments by creating an employee recognition program. Reward your employees when they exceed expectations or simply because of their long service to the company. By institutionalizing this program, your employees will be motivated to improve their work. This is because they know that management is highly appreciative of their efforts. It is an important factor in helping build trust between employees and management.

Tip#3 Award Independence for High Performing Employees

One of the biggest challenges in the workplace is how to inspire employees. Creating a reward program is one thing but another way is to give them a degree of independence. This signifies trust, that management is confident in their employee’s capabilities. Tap into their creativeness and ability to finish tasks according to the best of their abilities.

Tip#4 Open Communication Channels

Good communication is one of the most vital lifeblood in the workplace. It facilitates the flow of ideas between employees. This is especially critical for teams or departments who need to function as one. Opening lines between the workforce and management also bridges the gap, giving both parties the opportunity to create closer relationships. Communication is a two-way street and promoting feedback allows everybody to become valuable contributors to the company.

Tip#5 Encourage Personal Growth

Each employee should have an inner drive to constantly improve themselves personally. Physical improvements to the workplace and making it more conducive to work is only part of the equation. Employees must also share the burden of improving the workplace through personal growth. When a person is motivated, they can be productive employees who are able to overcome boredom and inactivity in the workplace. This can be achieved through continuing education and training. Having a career path program also inspires them to improve personally.

Tip#6 Employee Rewards Program

The reward of performing well should not only be through awards of recognition. This should also be accompanied by a promotion or financial benefits to make it personally rewarding. By doing this, an employee can make a positive connection between the organization and their personal success. When an employee can appreciate the fruits of their hard work, this increases their motivation to perform even better.

Tip#7 Set Realistic Goals

Work-related stress can be caused by unmet expectations or deadlines. Managers tend to push their employees to achieve objectives that are unrealistic. Give employees a sense of achievement by giving them reasonable goals. This also makes it possible for them to exceed expectations and be rewarded for going the extra mile. Make goals measurable. This makes it easier to judge an employee’s performance based on objective data.

Tip#8 Training and Development

Training can be done in almost step of the work process; from training recruits, team building, management training, project management, to learning new work processes. Training and career development help increase the value of your workforce. It requires a small amount of investment in training, but it rewards the organization with a better skilled workforce. The benefits of constant training can also have a positive effect in your employees. Learning new skills and the ability to acquire knowledge helps get rid of boredom in the workplace. A few hours spent outside their daily routines can be a much-needed breath of fresh air.

Tip#9 Create Better Work-Life Balance

Life should never revolve around work, but an employee must also have the motivation to perform their best in the workplace. Provide a better work life balance by incorporating relaxation and fun activities in the workplace or encouraging them to spend more quality time with their friends and family.

Management can promote work-life balance by formalizing this through its policies and work procedures. A concrete example would be offering flexible work schedules, company sponsored family events, paid time off, paid vacations, and work-at-home opportunities.

Offering flexible work schedules and allowing employees to spend more time with friends and family gives them a break from the daily stress of work. It gives them time to recuperate and return with more enthusiasm.

Work-life balance enables employees to achieve a sense of fulfillment both in their work and personal life. By giving them the opportunity to spend quality time with their loved ones, employees can have a better appreciation for the organization they work for. When work-life balance is achieved, employees are happier. And happy employees are productive employees.

 

Creating a Better Work Environment

The next step in creating an inspiring workspace environment is to make physical changes in the workplace. This can include using more user-friendly equipment and ergonomic furniture. We see this in today’s top organizations and businesses, office spaces that are designed to provide comfort to the people working in it. Gone are the days of dark, cramped offices.

Provide Comfortable Office Furniture

Comfort starts with providing your employees with comfortable chairs for working. After all this is where they will spend most of their day working. comfortable office furniture helps relieve the stress of everyday work. It allows them to focus better on their work without worrying about backpains.

Giving your employees comfortable office furniture goes beyond their personal workspace. It should also include furniture and equipment that can be used for relaxing during breaks. Lounge chairs for relaxation or casual meetings should be in your list. There must be adequate chairs or lounges for every worker. This must also be spaced out adequately, giving employee ample room for stretching out.

Natural Lighting

Whenever possible, use natural light for brightening up workspace. This does not only help uplift your employee’s spirits but is also a great way of saving on electricity costs. Natural light, sunlight in particular has been proven to increase productivity and elevate mood. If you’re planning to add windows, research on how to best utilize natural light while preventing harmful ultraviolet light from coming in.

Window placement is also critical. Check if there are nearby trees that need trimming or placing a window in a certain location will be blocked by nearby structures. Windows should be located relatively to the sun’s position to allow maximum sunlight during the rest of the day. After ensuring that you have maximized the use of natural light, implement an open plan office to let sunlight reach into every corner of the workspace.

Noise Filtering

One of the problems of open workspaces is the level of noise generated throughout the workspace. Without walls to block noise from spreading, sound freely reverberates throughout the room. This can be very annoying especially for workers who prefer a quite work environment. High noise levels are also a leading source of work-related stress.

Use noise cancelling equipment such as headsets if possible. You could also implement workplace policies for phone use. Placing phones into silent mode could eliminate annoying ringtones. For discussions and meetings, creating special rooms for this purpose is advised. You could also designate special places for people who require a quiet workspace.

Create a Green Workspace with Indoor Plants

Some studies have shown that adding indoor plants resulted to improve productivity. This is mainly due to lower stress levels compared to working in an environment without plants. Indoor plans are also natural air filters that greatly improves air quality in the workspace. It helps eliminate airborne toxins that can cause health issues.

Place at least one plant per 100 square feet of office space. Plants are natural detoxifiers, but some plants are more efficient compared to others. Selecting which type of plant to use is important especially if you’re using a limited space. Plants ideal for office spaces include snake plant, cactus, spider plant, aloe, bamboo palm, and cactus. These plants are perfect since they require little maintenance and can live in low-light conditions.

Personalizing Workspaces

Personalization of even the smallest working space by allowing family photos or personal items helps bring a small part of home into the office. These tokens can help ease the stress of work by reminding employees of why they work or bring them some happy memories. It also shows that management places great importance on the well-being of their employees. Personalized workspace breaks the monotony and boredom in the workplace.

Ergonomic Office Furniture

Ergonomic office furniture goes beyond comfort. It also promotes health by supporting the body’s weight and posture. Back injuries are common among employees who sit in office chairs for great periods of time. An ergonomic chair for example prevents back injuries by providing proper support to the back. Tables must also be at the perfect height. Important equipment such as printers and copiers must be within reach and easy to use.

Use Color to Bring Life into the Workspace

Color can have a psychological influence on a person’s mood. It sends an unconscious signal directly to the brain that triggers a psychological response. Certain colors can induce specific emotions and have a significant effect in the workplace. These can have a significant influence an employee’s productivity, health, focus, and creativity.

Maintaining a Clean and Organized Working Environment

Cleanliness and organization reflect utmost professionalism. A clean working space is a healthy workspace. Germs are a constant threat not only to your employee’s healthy but also to the health of your company. Lost work hours due to illness can cause project delays. Management can help minimize this threat by providing antiseptic wipes for keyboards or desks.

A well-organized workspace minimizes hazards and accidents in the workplace. Hallways and stairs in particular must be clutter-free. There should also be a designated storage room for unused equipment and supplies. Maintaining hallways and exits clear is critical especially during emergencies.

Ideal Workspace Temperature

When it comes to temperature, there is no exact science to determine which works best for everybody. Some employees want it hot, while others want the temperature turned down. It is finding a common ground where at least most of the employees feel comfortable with is the best compromise.

The key is to stay away from extreme temperature settings. While temperatures below ideal room settings can be managed by wearing sweaters, sweltering room temperatures should be handled with an efficient air conditioning system.