Recruitment challenges in Saudi Arabia

لقد شهد قطاع التوظيف في السعودية خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية الكثير من التغييرات، فعلى سبيل المثال التغيير في مجالي الاقتصاد والتقدم التكنولوجي ساهم في تغير الطريقة التي تستخدمها العديد من الشركات في التوظيف. وبالطبع، هناك دائماً تحديات يجب التغلب عليها، لذلك في هذا المقال سوف نناقش سوق العمل السعودي والتحديات الأكثر شيوعاً التي يواجهها في عملية التوظيف داخل المملكة العربية السعودية، وكيف ترتبط هذه التحديات مع توطين الوظائف (السعودة) ومبادرة نطاقات.

سوق العمل السعودي

يُمكِن وصف سوق العمل السعودي بأنه سوق يعتمد اعتماداً كبيراً على العمال الأجانب وتحديداً في القطاع الخاص، ويعود ذلك لأسباب أهمها:

أولاً: الطلب الكبير جداً للعمال في قطاع النفط.

ثانياً: مساحة المملكة العربية السعودية الكبيرة والتي تحتاج لمشاريع بنية تحتية ضخمة تتطلب عمال مؤقتين يعملون لفترة المشروع فقط ولذلك فهي لا تُؤمِن فرص عمل آمنة للسعوديين.

وجود هذا العدد الهائل من العمال يعني أن المملكة العربية السعودية تملك سوقا عمل مميزين بخصائص وصفات مختلفة، واحد للسعوديين والسوق الآخر للأجانب.

معدلات البطالة

لقد أظهرت البيانات الصادرة عن مصلحة الإحصاءات العامة والمعلومات أن معدل البطالة الإجمالي (لكل من السعوديين وغير السعوديين) في المملكة العربية السعودية كان جيداً وفقاً للمعايير الدولية وذلك بنسبة 5.7% عام 2015. ومع ذلك، فإن التحديات التي تواجه سوق العمل السعودي متأصلة في إعتماده على شَغل غير السعوديين لوظائف القطاع الخاص. وهذا يعني ارتفاع معدل البطالة للسعوديين، حيث بلغت نسبتهم 11.6% خلال عام 2015.

وهذا يعني أن هناك عدم توافق بين متطلبات القطاع الخاص والعمال السعوديين

 

مُخرَجات التعليم واحتياجات القطاع الخاص

إن السمات الشخصية والمهنية للخريجين السعوديين تشير إلى وجود عدم تطابق بين متطلبات القطاع الخاص وبين مهارات العمال السعوديين المتوفرين. ووفقاً للبيانات الصادرة عن وزارة التربية والتعليم، فإن 65.3% من مجموع السعوديين الخريجين لعام 2014 والذي يساوي 129،000 خريج قد تخرجوا من فرع الدراسات الإنسانية والعلوم الاجتماعية، وأن ما يقارب 16.8% فقط قد تخرجوا من مجالي الهندسة والعلوم واللذان يُعتَبَران من أكثر المجالات المرتبطة بقطاعات ذات المهارة العالية.

بناءً على البيانات الصادرة عن مصلحة الاحصاءات العامة، فإن القطاع الخاص يحصل على أعلى تركيز للعمال في كل من بيع الجملة والتجزئة (المفرق)، يتبعه بعد ذلك البناء ثم الصناعة. في عام 2015، كانت نسبة العمال السعوديين في هذه القطاعات أقل بكثير منها في القطاعات التي تحتاج لمهارة عالية في العمل. فعلى سبيل المثال، كان معدل العمال السعوديين في قطاع البناء والتشييد 15.8%، بالمقابل كان في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات 49.5%.

إن انخفاض عدد العمال السعوديين في القطاعات ذات الكثافة العمالية يعود إلى الانفصال الواضح بين احتياجات هذه القطاعات ومُخرَجات التعليم والتدريب الذي يحصل عليه هؤلاء العمال. كما ويمكن أن يكون السبب أيضاً في ذلك ولو جزئِياً هو ساعات العمل المرتفعة في قطاعات الكثافة العمالية مما يؤدي إلى عدم تشجيع السعوديين على العمل فيها.

هناك طريقة واحدة للتغلب على هذه المشكلة وهي من خلال مواصلة تعزيز برامج التدريب المهني للسعوديين. ولقد تم إتباع هذه المبادرة لسنوات ولكنها إلى الآن لم تحقق ذلك التغيير الملحوظ.

لاحقاً، سوف نناقش أهم التحديات التي تواجهها المؤسسات مع العمال السعوديين خلال عملية التوظيف.

 

أهم التحديات التي يتم مواجهتها خلال عملية التوظيف

1. التواصل غير الفعال

عادة، إن الافتراضات والتوقعات بين المدير الذي بحاجة الى موظفين والموظِفين يتم وضعها بدون فهم. فالمدراء الذين لديهم شواغرها يريدون ملئها لا يحصلون على إرشادات واضحة ومفيدة من الموظِفين ولذلك فهم لا يقدمون تغذية راجعة مفيدة عن أسباب رفض المرشحين سواء في مرحلة فرز السيرة الذاتية أو حتى في مرحلة المقابلة الشخصية.

2. الهيكل التنظيمي للمؤسسة

إن الشركات في المملكة العربية السعودية لديها نظام ذو شكل هرمي في القيادة التنظيمية، فالعديد من المؤسسات لديها مدراء تنفيذين تتقاطع مهماتهم الوظيفيةمع بعضها البعض.

3. ضعف التحليل الوظيفي

معظم الشركات لديها أشكال مختلفة من التحليل الوظيفي الداخلي التي تؤثر على عملية التفكير، المدير الذي بحاجة الى موظفين يحتاج الى عملية تفكير من أجل التأكيد على وجود تعبير دقيق ومحدد عن الحاجة والغرض.

4. حصص السعوديين في وظائف الحكومة السعودية (السعودة)

سلطت إحدى الدراسات الحديثة لعام 2015 التي قامت بها انفورما الشرق الأوسط على وظائف الموارد البشرية ومدى تصديها للتحديات التي تواجهها المنظمات خلال سعيها لتحقيق حصص السعوديين التي تم تحديدها من قبل الحكومة السعودية ومدى استمرار تنافسيتها أمام هذه التحديات.

 

ماذا نعني بتوطين الوظائف سعودياً (السعودة)؟

توطين الوظائف يعني استبدال العمال الأجانب في القطاع الخاص بعمال سعوديين. بما أن القطاع الخاص تم السيطرة عليه من قِبَل العمال الوافدين الأجانب، فإن هناك نقص كبير في عدد الوظائف المُقَدَمة للشباب السعوديين. قامت الحكومة السعودية باتخاذ قرار بتقليل البطالة في صفوف المواطنين السعوديين ولذلك أصدرت وزارة العمل قراراً ينص على ضرورة وصول توطين الوظائف في شركات القطاع الخاص الى نسبة 5 % سنوياً وذلك حتى يصل عدد العاملين السعوديين في الشركة إلى 30%.

هناك العديد من العوامل التي أثرت سلبا على توطين العمل مثل عدم وجود العمال المحليين المؤهلين، والافتقار إلى المهارات واستعداد العمال المحليين لاتخاذ عروض عمل معينة، امتناع القطاع الخاص عن توظيف العمال المحليين، وتفضيل توظيف الأجانب بسبب امتلاكهم لمؤهلات أفضل بكثير من العمال السعوديين. لذلك أطلقت الحكومة السعودية مبادرة عام 2011 أطلقت عليها اسم نطاقات، وذلك من أجل تقليل البطالة في صفوف الشعب السعودي.

 

مبادرة نطاقات

نطاقات هو عبارة عن برنامج قدمته وزارة العمل السعودية في يونيو 2011 وذلك من أجل توطين الوظائف السعودية وتقليل نسبة البطالة لدى السعوديين.

صنف البرنامج الشركات الخاصة في البلاد إلى أربعة أصناف: الممتاز، أخضر، أصفر، وأحمر. الممتاز والأخضر يتضمنان الشركات ذات مستوى عالي من العمالة السعودية، بينما الأصفر والأحمر يتضمنان الشركات ذات المستوى المنخفض. تصنيف الشركات الأخرى قائم بناءَ على نسبة العمال السعوديين مقابل العدد الكلي للعمال. ولقد تم إعفاء الشركات التي تحتوي على عدد عمال أقل من 10 من البرنامج مع ضرورة توظيف مواطن سعودي واحد على الأقل.

 

الجوانب التي قد يكون فيها توطين الوظائف السعودية تحدياً

1. جودة المرشحين

فلقد أعربت الشركات عن قلقها إزاء نوعية المرشحين المتوفرة، ومدى استعدادهم للالتحاق بسوق العمل في ظل اندفاع هذا العدد الكبير من الخريجين عديمي الخبرة نحو الاقتصاد. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن أصحاب العمل في كثير من الأحيان يشكون من التوقعات غير المعقولة للخريجين ذوي الخبرة القليلة عن مسؤوليات العمل. والتعويضات.

2. مستوى الأجور

تسعى الشركات للوصول إلى نسب السعودة العمل المطلوبة منهم ولذلك فهي توظف وتدرب عمال مبتدئين ما زالوا في بداية طريق سوق العمل. وتشير الأدلة إلى أن هذا الضغط الذي تواجهه المؤسسة يؤدي بها إلى زيادة رواتب الموظفين الذين دربتهم وذلك من أجل ضمان بقاءهم معها.

3. ارتباط الموظفين

ينظر خبراء الموارد البشرية إلى أن السعوديين ينتقلون من عمل إلى آخر بشكل متكرر بحثاً عن زيادة الأجور، مشيرين إلى أنهم لا يرتبطون بالمؤسسة بل يرتبطون بفكرة المكافآت المالية والامتيازات.

 

هناك بعض النتائج توصلت إليها مبادرة نطاقات ومنها قدرة الشركات على التلاعب بالنظام الذي قد يُفسر عدم الالتزام الكامل للعاملين بالمؤسسة، ويتم ذلك بطريقتين:

1. توظيف السعوديين بشكل مؤقت

أحد الطرق التي تستخدمها الشركات للتحايل على النظام وتجنب قيود التوظيف المفروضة على العمالة الوافدة هي تحسين الصورة الوظيفية لديهم وذلك من خلال توظيف عدد كبير من السعوديين عند حاجتهم لتوظيف موظفيهم الأجانب أو من أجل تحديث تأشيرات العمل الخاصة بهم. يحاول البرنامج منع هذا التحايل عن طريق طلب سجلات العمال في المنظمة خلال متوسط 12 أسبوع عمل للموظفين السعوديين. ومع ذلك، ما زال هناك تقارير لشركات توظف عدد كبير من السعوديين برواتب قليلة خلال فترة زمنية قصيرة.

2. تقليص الحجم لتجنب نسب السعودة المطلوبة

طريقة أخرى للتهرب من العقوبة وهي تقليص عدد العمال في الشركة إلى ما يقل عن عشرة وذلك حتى يتم إدراجها خارج برنامج نطاقات.

تحتاج الشركات في المملكة العربية السعودية إلى إيجاد طرق للاستمرار بجذب المواهب السعودية النادرة، ذات الخبرة والمغتربة وذلك من أجل الحفاظ على نجاحها، بالإضافة إلى ذلك فهي أيضاً تحتاج إلى تصميم بيئة عمل تناسب الثقافات التي يرغب بها الموظفين وخاصة التأكد من اندماج موظفيها المغتربين وأنهم يرغبون بالبقاء مدة أطول.

 

فريق بكه للتدريب والاستشارات

Recruitment challenges in Saudi Arabia

In the last few years, the recruiting industry has witnessed big changes as the economy and technological advances have altered the way many companies hire. Of course, there are always challenges to be overcome, in this article we will discuss the Saudi labor market and the most common challenges faced in the recruitment process in Saudi Arabia, and how these challenges are linked with Saudization and Nitaqat initiative.

Saudi labor market

The Saudi labor market can be described as highly dependent on foreign labor, especially in the private sector; There are many reasons for this, the large demand for workers in the oil industry is one, another is that Saudi Arabia is a large country and has mega-infrastructure projects that require temporary labor only for the duration of the projects and therefore do not provide secure jobs for Saudis. Having this much foreign workers means that Saudi Arabia has two distinct labor markets, one for Saudis and one for foreigners. They have very different characteristics.

Unemployment rates

Data released by the Central Department of Statistics and Information (CDSI) showed that the overall unemployment rate (for both Saudis and non-Saudis) in Saudi Arabia was healthy by international standards at 5.7% during 2015. However, the challenge to the Saudi labor market is rooted in the over-reliance on non-Saudis occupying private sector jobs. This has meant a structurally high unemployment rate for Saudis, which stood at 11.6% in 2015.

This implies that there may be a mismatch between private sector requirements and the supply of Saudi labor.


Education outcomes and private sector needs

Graduate profiles of Saudis indicate that there is a mismatch between private sector requirements and the supply of Saudi labor with the relevant skills. According to data from the Ministry of Education, out of a total of 129,000 Saudi tertiary graduates in 2014, 65.3% came from social sciences and humanities background, and 16.8% of graduates came from engineering and science fields, two fields which are associated with high-skilled sectors.

According to data from CDSI, the private sectors with the highest labor concentration are wholesale and retail, followed by construction, and manufacturing. In 2015, Saudization rates in such sectors were significantly lower than in higher-skilled/lower labor intensity sectors. For example, Saudization rates in the construction sector stood at just 15.8%, compared to 49.5% in information technology.

The lower number of Saudis employed in labor-intensive sectors is due to a disconnection between these sectors needs and education/training outcomes of Saudi labor. It could also be partially related to the relatively higher work hours in labor-intensive sectors, which further discourages Saudis.

One way to overcome this disconnect is by further promoting vocational and training programs to Saudis. This initiative has been pursued for several years now, but has yet to result in a notable change.

Next, we will discuss the main challenges that organizations within the Saudi labor face during the process of recruiting employees.

 

Main Challenges faced in the recruitment process

1. Ineffective communication

Typically, assumptions and expectations between hiring managers and recruiters are set without understanding. Hiring managers don’t get useful guidance from recruiters and therefore they do not provide useful feedback on why they are rejecting candidates at CV or interview stage.

2. Organization structures

Companies in KSA have an inherent hierarchical view on organizational leadership; many organizations have top Executives whose areas of responsibility cross over.

3. Poor Job Analysis

Most companies have different Job Analysis formats internally; which affects the thinking process, which a hiring manager must go through to ensure there is an accurate reflection of the need and purpose.

4. Saudi Government’s Saudization quotas

A recent study of 2015 conducted by “Informa Middle East” highlights the Human Resource (HR) function’s response to challenges faced by organizations as they strive to meet the Saudi Government’s Saudization quotas, while still remaining competitive!

 

What does Saudization mean?

Saudization is the replacement of foreign workers with Saudi nationals in the private sector. Since it is largely dominated by foreign expatriate workers; there are not enough jobs for the growing number of Saudi youth. The Saudi Government took the decision to reduce unemployment among native Saudis

Thus, Ministry of Labor required all the companies in the Saudi market to achieve 5% of Saudization every year to reach 30%.

There are several factors that have adversely affected the nationalization of employment such as lack of qualified local workers, lack of skills and willingness of local workers to take certain job offers, reluctance of private sector to recruit local workers, preference of hiring foreigners because of better qualification etc. Later, in 2011, to reduce unemployment among Saudis, the ministry has announced an initiative called Nitaqat.

 

Nitaqat initiative

Nitaqat (“ranges” or “zones”) is a Saudization program introduced by the Saudi Ministry of Labor in June 2011, which aimed to reduce unemployment among Saudis.

The program classifies the country’s private firms into four categories: Premium, Green, Yellow and Red. Premium and Green categories include the companies with high Saudization rates, while Yellow and Red include the ones with low rates. The classification of other companies is based on the Saudization percentage (% of Saudi employees) and the total number of employees. The companies with less than 10 employees are exempt from the program, but still need to employ at least one Saudi citizen.

 

Areas where Saudization can be a challenge

1. Quality of Candidates

Companies have expressed concern about the quality of available candidates, and their readiness to enter the workforce a tidal wave of inexperienced university graduates has pushed their way into the economy. Also employers frequently complain that university graduates with just a few years of work experience often have unreasonable expectations of compensation and job responsibilities.

2. The outlook for remuneration

As organizations strive to reach their Saudization quotas, they are employing and training entry-level employees. Anecdotal evidence suggests that this is putting pressure on salaries as firms offer more pay to encourage the employees that they have trained to stay with them.

3. Employees engagement

HR professionals consider that Saudi Nationals frequently move from company to company in search of increased remuneration, indicating that they are not ‘engaged’ with the organizations they are working in but are, rather, engaged with the idea of the financial rewards .

There are some consequences from incentives created by the particular structure of Nitaqat. The extent to which firms are able to game the system may account for the less than full-compliance rates.

 

Temporary Saudi Hiring

One way where firms try to cheat the system, and avoid hiring restrictions on expatriate workers is to temporarily improve their color band assignment, by hiring a large number of Saudi workers when they need to hire more expatriate workers or renew existing work visas. The program rules try to prevent this by assigning color bands based on the 12-week moving average of Saudi employees. Nonetheless, there are occasionally reports of firms hiring large numbers of low-wage Saudi workers for short periods.

Downsizing to Avoid Quotas

Another way that firms may avoid penalties is by reducing their size below” the ten-employee cutoff for inclusion” in the Nitaqat program.

Companies in Saudi Arabia need to find ways to continue to attract senior, experienced, expatriate as well as qualified Saudi talents to ensure that they remain successful, they also need to ensure that their expatriate employees are engaged and stay for longer time, which means they need to design working environments and cultures where employees want to stay. The overall employment package, including reward management, career development, organizational culture, and meaningful work.

 

Bakkah team for training and consulting

Register in one of the Recruitment courses organized by Bakkah