Tuckman Ladder

يعتبر بناء فريق العمل من المسائل الأكثر أهمية لمدير الفريق وذلك لضمان نجاح مشروعه. لذلك يجب على مدير المشروع توفير بيئة عمل ملائمة وحيوية بحيث يستطيع الأفراد العمل فيها بروح الفريق وبشكل إيجابي ويكون ثمرة ذلك نجاح المشروع.

التحدي في إدارة الفريق وأثره على نجاح المشاريع

بناء أو تطوير الفريق ليس بالمهمة السهلة، ويحتاج إلى جهد كبير. لأن مدير المشروع عند تشكيل فريق العمل يكون لديه أعضاء قادمين من ثقافات مختلفة ومن تخصصات متنوعة، وفي تلك الحالة سوف يعمل كل موظف بما يرتئيه ويكون هناك الكثير من الاختلاف في وجهات النظر وعدم التقبل للآخر مما يؤدي إلى بعض التصادمات. في بيئة عمل كهذه يستحيل على مدير المشروع أن يجعل مشروعه ينجح.

“بروس توكمان” ابتكر حلاً لإدارة الفريق

Bruce Tuckman

قام عالم الموارد البشرية “بروس توكمان” عام 1965 بتطوير نموذج تغلب فيه على العقبات التي تواجه بناء فريق العمل والتي ذكرنا بعضاً منها أعلاه. نموذج توكمان والذي اشتهر فيما بعد بـ “سلم توكمان” كان مبني في البداية على 4 مراحل/خطوات متتابعة. وفي العام 1977 قام توكمان بالاشتراك مع باحث آخر بإضافة مرحلة خامسة إلى نموذجه، وهي: الإنهاء أو الإغلاق adjourning وفيها يتم إكمال جميع المهام وانفصال الفريق.

مراحل سلم توكمانمراحل/خطوات “سلم توكمان” لبناء الفريق

الهدف من هذه المراحل الخمسة هو تشكيل الفريق ومواجهة التحديات التي تواجه عمله ومعالجة المشاكل وإيجاد الحلول والتخطيط للعمل وتسليم النتائج.

  1. التشكيل/ التكوين Forming
  2. الاقتحام/ التصارع Storming
  3. التوافق Norming
  4. الأداء Performing
  5. الإنهاء/الإغلاق Adjourning

 

خصائص “سلم توكمان”

يسمى نموذج توكمان بالسلم لأن:

  • يتكون من خطوات /مراحل.
  • كل خطوة/مرحلة مبنية على الخطوة التي تسبقها.
  • كل خطوة/مرحلة تحضر لخطوة/مرحلة الأداء Performing .
  • تخطي أي خطوة/مرحلة يؤثر سلبا على الأداء.
  • مع كل تحدي جديد تتكرر الخطوات/المراحل.

 

ماهي خطوات “سلم توكمان” ؟

  1. التشكيل/ التكوين Forming

وهي أول خطوة من مراحل بناء الفريق، وتعتبر خطوة هامة جداً حيث يقوم مدير الفريق بمحاولة التقريب بين الأعضاء وبذل جهد ليتعارف أعضاء الفريق على بعضهم البعض، ويتبادلون بعض المعلومات الشخصية ويكونوّا صداقات. وهي أيضاً فرصة جيدة لمعرفة كيف يعمل كل عضو من الفريق كفرد وكيف يستجيب للضغوطات. ويفضل أن يقوم مدير الفريق بتعريف كل عضو في الفريق بأهميته والسبب باختياره هو بالذات.

  1. التصارع Storming

تدخل فرق العمل في مرحلة التصارع Storming، حيث تكون هناك أفكار مختلفة تتنافس فيما بينها وكل صحاب فكرة يعتقد أنه على صواب. وممكن أن ينتج عن اختلاف الأفكار تنازع بين أعضاء الفريق، وهنا يأتي دور مدير الفريق بمحاولة التوفيق بين الآراء ويبين لكل عضو منهم أن رأيه مهم وفيه من الصواب.

في مرحلة التصارع Storming يقوم الفريق بتحديد بعض الأمور مثل: ماهي المشاكل التي من المفترض أن يقوموا بحلها، وكيف سوف يقوموا بمهامهم منفردين أو جماعياً وما هو نموذج القيادة الذي سيقبلون به. أعضاء الفريق في مرحلة التصارع Storming يصبحوا منفتحين على بعضهم البعض ويعرف كل فرد منهم فكرة الآخر ووجهة نظره.

الخروج من مرحلة التصارع Storming ممكن أن يتم بسرعة، ولكن في حالات أخرى الفريق لا يخرج نهائياً من هذه المرحلة. نضج بعض أعضاء فريق العمل عادة ما يحدد ما إذا كان الفريق سوف ينتقل من هذه المرحلة أم لا. في بعض الحالات وفي هذه المرحلة يقوم بعض أعضاء الفريق بالتركيز على التفاصيل للتهرب من القضايا الجوهرية.

هذه المرحلة ممكن أن تكون مدمرة للفريق وتقلل دافعيتهم إذا خرجت عن السيطرة.

  1. التوافق Norming

يكون فريق العمل في مرحلة التوافق Norming أكثر انسجاماً ومتفقين على إدارة العمل سوياً للوصول إلى تحقيق الهدف. وقد يقوم بعض أعضاء الفريق بطرح أفكارهم الخاصة على بقية الأعضاء ويتم التوافق عليها لتمكين الفريق من العمل.

في مرحلة التوافق Norming يتحمل جميع أعضاء فريق العمل المسئولية ويكون لديهم الطموح من أجل إنجاح أهداف الفريق، ويكون دور مدير الفريق اشرافياً ويتيح للأعضاء صلاحية اتخاذ القرار.

  1. الأداء Performing

تصل الفرق العمل إلى مرحلة الأداء بعد أن تكون قد مرت بجميع المراحل السابقة بنجاح. وتتميز الفرق التي يكون أدائها مرتفع بأنها تعمل كوحدة واحدة كما أنهم يبتكروا طرق لتنفيذ مهامهم بفعالية وسلاسة دون تعارض ودون الحاجة إلى إشراف من خارج الفريق.

أعضاء الفريق في المرحلة الأداء Performing يكونوا مؤهلين ويتمتعون باستقلالية وقادرين على التعامل مع عملية اتخاذ القرار بدون إشراف، و الإختلاف بينهم وارد ومتوقع ومرحب به طالما أنه في إطار المقبول للفريق. أعضاء الفريق في هذه المرحلة غالباً ما يكونوا على توافق و يتخذ الفريق أغلب القرارات الضرورية.

الفرق المتميزة في أدائها في بعض الحالات تعود لتمر بجميع المراحل من جديد (التشكيل Forming). فرق العمل التي تعمل منذ فترات زمنية طويلة تمر عدة مرات في هذه المراحل للتكيف مع التغيرات في الظروف المحيطة. فعلى سبيل المثال، التغيير في القيادة سوف يقود الفريق للعودة إلى مرحلة التصارع Storming لأن هناك أفراد جدد سوف يتحدون المعايير الموجودة.

  1. الإنهاء/الإغلاق Adjourning

تنطوي جميع المراحل الأربع السابقة بمرحلة بحل الفريق الإنهاء/الإغلاق Adjourning، حيث يتم إكمال المهام وإنهاء أدوار الفريق وتقليل الإعتماد الآخرين.

قد تكون هذه العملية مجهدة خاصة إذا كانت عملية حل الفريق غير مخطط لها. البعض يطلق على هذه المرحلة مرحلة الحداد والحزن “Deforming and Mourning” في إشارة إلى معرفتهم بما يشعر به الموظفون من خسارة للعمل والفريق.

المخلص

يمكننا تلخيص فكرة وخطوات سلم توكمان لإدارة الفريق في الإنفوجرافيك التالي:

انفوجرافيك سلم توكمان

فريق بكه للتدريب والاستشارات

Tuckman Ladder

Developing a team is considered as one of the most important elements for a project manager and that to ensure the project’s success. Therefore, he should provide an appropriate and dynamic environment, where individuals can work as a team within a positive way which in turn affects the project’s success positively.

The challenges of managing a team and it’s impacts on the project’s success

Team development is not an easy job! It needs lot of work, efforts. this is because when a project manager forms a team he will have members from different cultures and fields. In this case, every employee will be working depending on what he sees or believes, there will be a lot of different opinions and lack of acceptance of the other, which may lead to some clashes. In this kind of environment, the project manager can’t make the project success.

Bruce Tuckman innovated a solution to manage the teamBruce Tuckman

In 1965, Bruce Tuckman – a human resources scientist- developed a model that Overcomes the obstacles which face the team building process, and we have mentioned some of them above. Tukman’s model which was later known as Tukman’s Ladder was initially based on 4 stages. In 1977, Tuckman, jointly with Mary Ann Jensen, added a fifth stage to the 4 stages: adjourning (Mourning), that involves completing the task and breaking up the team.


Tukman Ladder’s stages of group development

The goal of these five stages is building a team that can overcome the obstacles his work faced during work, solve problems, find solutions, make a plan and deliver the results.


This model has become the basis for subsequent models

Characteristics of Tukman’s Ladder

Tukman’s model is called Tukman’s ladder because:

  • It consists of steps
  • Each step depends on the previous one.
  • Each step prepares for the performing stage.
  • Skipping any step effects performing negatively.
  • With every new challenge, the process is repeated.


What are the steps of Tukman’s Ladder?

1- Forming

It is the first stage of team building, the forming stage of any team is important because in this stage, the members of the team get to know one another, exchange some personal information, and make new friends. This is also a good opportunity to see how each member of the team works as an individual and how they respond to pressure. And actually it is preferred that the team manager introduces each member and explain why he was especially chosen for this work.

2- Storming

Every group will next enter the storming stage in which different ideas compete and everyone believes that his idea is the one, a clash may happen between the team and here comes the role of team manager, he should try to reconcile the views of each member and show him that his opinion is important and it is right.

In the Storming Stage, the team addresses issues such as what problems they are really supposed to solve, how they will function independently and together and what leadership model they will accept. Team members open up to each other and confront each other’s ideas and perspectives.

In some cases, storming can be resolved quickly. In others, the team never leaves this stage. The maturity of some team members usually determines whether the team will ever move out of this stage. Some team members will focus on minutiae to evade real issues.

This phase can become destructive to the team and will lower the motivation if it gets out of control.

3- Norming

In the Norming Stage the team will be more harmonious and they will all agree to manage the work together in order to reach their goal. Some members may suggest a good idea that all the team will agree upon and this will help the team in their work.

In this stage, all team members take the responsibility and have the ambition to work for the success of the team’s goals. The role of the team manager is only supervising and giving members the required authorities to make decisions.

4- Performing

It is possible for some teams to reach the performing stage. These high-performing teams are able to function as a unit as they find ways to get the job done smoothly and effectively without inappropriate conflict or the need for external supervision.

The team members are now competent, autonomous and able to handle the decision-making process without supervision. Dissent is expected and allowed as long as it is channeled through means acceptable to the team. Supervisors of the team during this phase are almost always participative. The team will make most of the necessary decisions.

However, even the most high-performing teams will revert to earlier stages in some circumstances. Many long-standing teams go through these cycles many times as they react to changing circumstances. For example, a change in leadership may cause the team to revert to storming as new people challenge the existing norms and dynamics of the team.

5- Adjourning

Adjourning involves dissolution. It entails the termination of roles, the completion of tasks and reduction of dependency. The process can be stressful, particularly when the dissolution is unplanned. Some authors describe this stage as “Deforming and Mourning”, recognizing the sense of loss sometimes felt by team members.


We can summarize Tuckman’s stages ” Ladder” of group development in the below picture:

Infographic Tuckman Ladder

Bakkah team for training and consulting